Category: Club News

Cill Dara GC reaches the semi-final of the Leinster Central AIG Men’s Jimmy Bruen Shield

Congratulations to the men’s Team on their excellent win over Carlow GC last Sunday in the Quarter Final of the Leinster Central AIG Men’s Jimmy Bruen Shield.

Our last remaining team has now reached the Semi-Final of the Leinster Central AIG Men’s Jimmy Bruen Shield

The semi-final will take place on Sunday July 9th at 14:00/14:10 versus Gowran Park GC:

3 matches to be played in Cill Dara GC (14:10)

2 matches to be played in Gowran Park GC (14:00)

 Please do come out to support the team.

Open Week Results

Updated 04/06/2023

Saturday May 27th
18 Hole 3-person Waltz: Ladies’/Men’s/Mixed Teams
Sponsored by Newbridge Silverware

Ladies’ Team: Shona Gorman (39), Sinead Murphy (35), Paula Connolly (25) & Lori Solan (17) 106 pts
Men’s Team: Ian Moore (7), Kevin Canavan (20), Mark O’Connor (21), & Paul Hennessey (11) 109 pts
Mixed Team: George Murphy (30), Phil Murphy (26), Matt O’Shea (18) & Declan Jacob (14) 107 pts
Presentation was held Tuesday May 30th

Sunday May 28th
Men’s 18 Hole Singles Strokes
Sponsored by Tommy Byrne

Category 1: Cian Conlon (10) 67 nett
Category 2: Frank Murphy (17) 69 nett
Category 3: Barry Doyle (Visitor) (38) 64 nett
Best Gross: Daire Conlon (Visitor) (4) 75 Gross
Presentation was held Tuesday May 30th

Monday May 29th
Fourball, 18 Hole Stableford: Ladies’/Men’s/Mixed Teams
Sponsored by Hartes of Kildare

1st: Liam Mulpeter (20) & Kevin Canavan (18) 45 pts
2nd: Aileen Bell (27) & Lily O’Connor (26) 44 pts (B9)
3rd: Alice Horan (49) & Ann Murphy (40) 44 pts (B9)
Presentation was held Tuesday May 30th

Tuesday May 30th
Seniors 18 Hole Singles Stableford
Sponsored by Cill Dara GC Seniors

1st: Joe Watters (21) 41 pts
2nd: Larry Connolly (18) 40 pts
3rd: Tom Royce (19) 39 pts

Wednesday May 31st
Ladies’ 9 & 18 Hole Singles Stableford
Sponsored by Fitzpatrick’s Garage

18 Hole, 1st Cat.1: Annette French (29) 47 pts
18 Hole, 2nd Cat.1: Margaret Gill (Visitor) (23) 40 pts
18 Hole, 1st Cat.2: Bridget Royce (38) 42 pts
18 Hole, 2nd Cat.2: Mary Dick (42) 40 pts
9 Hole 1st: Teresa Crudden 25 pts
9 Hole 2nd: Shirley O’Leary 22 pts

Thursday June 1st
18 Holes 3-person Rumble
Sponsored by JJ Mahon & Sons

1st Ladies Team: Liz Dempsey (24), Tracey Gallagher (26), Majella Howard (22)  95 points (C/B b9)
2nd Ladies Team: Mary Dawson (21), Ann Doyle (26), Paula Kelly (37)  95 points
1st Men’s Team: Tom Egan (20), Jim Hughes (25), Art Shirran (24)  93 points
2nd Men’s Team: Joe Dowling (22), Richie Nugent (16), Sean de Paor (14)  85 points (C/B b9)
No mixed teams entered. Next best 2 teams (team score):
Liam Mulpeter (22), Joe Raleigh (16), Matt Costello (25): 85 points (C/B b9)
Richie Conlon (28), Ronan Whelan (5), Ian Moore (7): 85 points

Friday June 2nd
18 Holes Men’s Singles Stableford
Sponsored by Mick Sammon & Co. Ltd.

1st: Peter McAuley (33) 39pts
2nd: Malcolm Haig (12) 38pts (c/b B9)
3rd: Greg Connelly (27) 38pts
4th: Cian Conlon (8) 37pts (c/b B9)

Saturday June 3rd 
3-person Waltz (18-Hole)
Kindly sponsored by Dooley Insurance Group

Men’s Team: Paddy Flanagan(15),  Sean De Paor(14) & Pat Folan(15): 86 points
Ladies’ team: Claire Dawson(38), Tina Butler(52) & Noreen Noble(42): 93 points
Mixed Team: Majella Howard(22),  Lesley Gorman (24) & Jim Gorman(26): 91points

Sunday June 4th
Men’s Singles Stableford (18-Hole)
Kindly sponsored by John Rooney

1st: Cian Conlon (7) 40 pts (B9)
2nd: Tom Friary (7) 40 pts
3rd: Paul Foran (23) 39 pts
4th: Michael O’Donnell (17) 38 pts


Men’s Vice-Captain’s Prize 2023

The 2023 Men’s Vice-Captain’s Prize (Mr Gerry Ryan) was played Friday 19th – Sunday 21st May 2023

Congratulations to Gerry on running such a successful amd enjoyable event.

Congratulations also to the winners including:

Winner: Shane Darling

Best Gross: David Callan

Category Winners: Barney McCann (Cat 1); Larry Connolly (Cat 2) and Joe Watters (Cat 3)

And the flags were flown………

Flags were raised for the first time during an informal ceremony on Thursday May 18th 2023

They really add to the image and look of our clubhouse and surroundings.

Huge thanks to all who made this happen including: Rory Sweeney, Ray (& Ray Melia), Emily Aspell, Jim Hanafin and so many more

“The flag is the embodiment of not sentoiment, but of history”

Club Fundraiser – new Club Buggy

Dear Members,
We are embarking on a significant Club Fundraiser to facilitate the purchase a new Club Buggy.

This is much needed for members and will be hired regularly. We are grateful to generous members who allow us the use of their personal property currently, yet we need to reduce the over reliance on such generosity.

A Core Team of Ladies have kindly come forward to coordinate this venture and tickets are now available for purchase. The price is £10 per ticket. This team has assigned sellers (Mens and Ladies Clubs) Tickets will also be available in the Admin Office and Bar/Restaurant.
This Fundraising initiative has been supported and endorsed by Captain Niall and Joint Management Committee.
This is One Club vision in action.

There are fabulous prizes to be won-all sponsored, which is wonderful – Several 4 Balls in a variety of prestigious Golf Clubs. Carr Golf has sponsored three of these 4 Balls.
Our 1st prize is amazing: 4 Ball in Doonbeg Golf Club, including Helicopter transfer from Cill Dara (up to 6 people)
This super 1st prize has been so generously sponsored by:
• Raymond and Mary Conlan
• Alex and Mary Dick
• Ann and Betty Fitzpatrick
• John and Michelle Mc Cormack
• Loretta and Paul Noone.

Thank you for this truly incredible Prize and sponsorship.
We anticipate great interest in this raffle, and we believe that with your full engagement and support, this fundraiser will be a great success. Cill Dara never fails when it comes to uniting together for a worthy cause and we believe this is one of those times.
The outcome facility for members will be hugely beneficial and a worthwhile investment for all members in need of such Buggies.

Thank you all.
Captains Marguerite and Niall.

One Club Model – EGM Result

An Extraordinary General Meeting (EGM) was held Thursday May 25th at 20:30 (8:30pm).

The purpose of this EGM was to ratify and implement a One Club Model framework for Cill Dara Golf Club ahead of bringing a new, relevant, and fit for purpose constitution for consideration and acceptance at the annual AGM.

We are delighted to confirm that the motion was passed and ratified unanimously by the attendees at the EGM.

Many thanks to all who have worked on this to date, and all who attended the Information Evening and the EGM. Special thanks to Neil Kilgallon from Golf Ireland for all his support.
This is just the first step on the journey – much done, more to do.

Thursday Fourball Annual Away Trip

Our Annual Thursday Fourball Away Trip will be on Friday 13th of October in Slieve Russell Hotel Golf & Country Club.


Package price: €194 per person  (based on 2 people sharing a room)

€50 deposit required – please do pay Anita in the club office.

Package includes golf, dinner, and B&B.


Golf is on Friday 13th at 12noon. Breakfast & tea/coffee available for €7 on arrival.

Numbers are limited to 60 people (30 rooms).

2023 Kildare Mixed Shield Champions

Cill Dara Golf Club has won the 2023 Kildare Mixed Shield. This tournament was played today in Millicent Golf Club.

Our winning team were:

Herbie Wilkins & Ann Doyle; Jim Hanafin & Stephanie O’Sullivan; Frederick C. Archbold & Catherine Doyle; John Conlon & Ann Ryan; and Gerry King & Marguerite Rowan.

This is an excellent result and achievement – congratulations to all!!!!

Scroll to top